Meet the Board

The Town of York Historical Society is governed by an elected Board of Directors.

Contact the TYHS Board of Directors at


Kevin Both graduated in 2010 from York University with a degree in Urban Sociology. For three years he worked weekends as the face of Toronto’s First Post Office, as well as educating school groups about the site’s unique history. Kevin continues to be very passionate about Toronto’s origins and leads walking tours through many of the city’s neighbourhoods. Kevin’s position on the board comes out of his desire to contribute to the protection of Toronto’s built heritage, and to booster the city and its image every chance he can.

Term expires: May 2024 | Appointed: March 2014 |Elected: May 2015

JOHN JONES, Vice Chair

John Jones joins us as a graduate from the University of Toronto with a major in History. He is passionate about the development of Toronto, and is particularly interested in the city’s policy direction. John is a multi-location Operations Manager for The Beer Store and a Beer Store Charity Coordinator, from which he has earned experience in operational fundamentals, employment standards, and fundraising. John is currently pursuing a postgraduate certificate in Human Resource Management.

Term expires: May 2025 | First elected: May 2019

ALEX MORGAN, Treasurer

Alex Morgan comes to us with over 12 years of experience in financial services in both public and private firms, Alex is a Fellow of the Canadian Securities Institute, a Chartered Investment Manager, and an accredited Personal Financial Planner. Alex is also currently involved in the Ontario Chapter of Junior Achievement, where he volunteers as an educator-for-a-day, introducing basic finance and money management to 6, 7, and 8th graders across the GTA.

Term expires: May 2026 | Appointed: March 2020 | Elected: December 2020


Danielle Jewinski is committed to building community through history, education and public programming. She has spent the last 11 years creating engaging programming and events at local museums and nonprofits, as well as fundraising and seeking sponsorship opportunities. She is currently an Information and Education Officer at the Legislative Assembly of Ontario and a Historic Interpreter at Mackenzie House.

Term expires: May 2024| Appointed: May 2021 | Elected: October 2021

THOMAS GRANOFSKY, Director-at-Large

Thomas Granofsky is a public policy researcher and consultant primarily focused on social policy projects. He recently co-authored a report on social assistance reform for Ontario360 at the Munk School of Global Affairs. He has previously worked in the Ontario government at several ministries, including the Ministry of Health, the Ministry of Children and Youth Services, the Treasury Board Secretariat and the Ministry of Community and Social Services. Prior to working in government, he was a Policy Associate at the Mowat Centre. He holds an MPhil in Comparative Social Policy from the University of Oxford and a Bachelor of Social Work from Ryerson University. 

Term expires: May 2024 | Appointed: October 2020 | Elected: December 2020

DAVE KALINOWSKY, Director-at-Large

Dave Kalinowsky joins the board with a background in business administration and commercial real estate. After graduating from the Richard Ivey School of Business in 2012, Dave became a licensed realtor with experience in leasing, municipal zoning & development, and public policy – particularly as it relates to seniors housing. In his spare time Dave is an active volunteer with the Ontario Chapter of Junior Achievement and the Peel Children’s Aid Society. 

Term expires: May 2025 | Elected: May 2022

ANNIE SMITH, Director-at-Large

Annie Smith is a senior marketing communications professional, with extensive experience helping individuals and organizations achieve their goals and bottom lines by developing and executing strategic up-market campaigns. In her current role as Director, Marketing and Communications at the Chartered Business Valuators Institute (CBVI), Annie oversees CBVI’s public-facing efforts to promote its commitment to professional excellence by establishing the highest standards of business valuation practice and education to elevate the stature of the CBV designation and the profession globally.

Term expires: May 2024 | Appointed: May 2021 | Elected: October 2021

KAREN RAITTINEN, Director-at-Large

Karen Raittinen is Museum Program Officer at Spadina Museum and has over 14 years experience in the field, having worked at and volunteered in a number of museums in Toronto. Karen’s first career was in the field of ESL where she worked in Toronto, Poland and Mexico. She completed an Honours Degree in French and a Bachelor of Education in TESL at Brock University, a Certificate in Volunteer Management at Humber College and the OMA Certificate in Museum Studies. Karen is also passionate about volunteering and has volunteered in numerous roles and is excited to be a part of Toronto’s First Post Office. In her free time, Karen enjoys reading, visiting museums and travelling.
Term expires: May 2026| Appointed: May 2023 | Elected: May 2023

ANDREW UNSWORTH, Director-at-Large

Andrew Unsworth is a leader in business turnarounds, technology startups, real estate, and finance. His expertise spans management consulting, business development, and financial analysis. Andrew’s entrepreneurial background includes founding technology startups, leading organizational restructuring, and launching successful products. He holds BAs in Economics and Philosophy from the University of Western Ontario, and is a licensed real estate Broker in Ontario, blending analytical acumen with strategic foresight to drive significant business improvements. 

Term expires: May 2026| Appointed: May 2023 | Elected: May 2023

JUSTIN ABRAHAM, Director-at-Large

Justin Abraham is a graduate of Queen’s University and holds an MBA from Kellogg-Schulich. He grew up in Victoria, BC, where he developed a love for the Vancouver Canucks and alpine skiing. In 2015, he moved to Toronto and was immediately impressed by the city’s rich cultural heritage and history. Justin is passionate about Toronto and is dedicated to using his skills and knowledge to help the city thrive. He has a professional background in data and analytics, which he believes is essential for driving insight-driven decision-making within organizations. Justin is particularly excited to contribute to the board, where he can leverage his expertise to help make informed decisions that will benefit the Town of York Historical Society and Toronto’s First Post Office.

Appointed: November 2023